Retired Petting Zoo Goat Relives Her Best Moments as an Entertainer

DSC_0068
Agnes scratching herself on her favorite crossbeam

OAKLAND, CA — “I miss the days now where I was cramped in a small pen with sticky children touching me all day,” reminisces Agnes the Goat, a recently retired petting zoo expert from the Oakland Zoo who contributed 12 years of her life to provide menial entertainment to obnoxious elementary students. “You always knew it was going to be a good day when you saw a large school bus filled with grimy children who were ready to pet some animals; the rush was amazing. My favorite part of the whole job would have to be the aftermath because you never know what people will have left sticking to your coat. On a good day I’ll end up with a few lollipops and some gum which makes for a great snack compared to the food provided by the zookeepers.” Agnes then went on to describe her daily preparation, “I like to be very prepared so every day in the morning I would practice my loudest and most obnoxious bleet so I could really imprint myself in the minds of children. I would then sharpen each of my horns just in case a child came along that needed to be scared.”

Retired Petting Zoo Goat Relives Her Best Moments as an Entertainer

Leave a Reply

